Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity and Education and Research Fund Scholarships

Alpha Mu Tau is a national fraternity whose purpose is the advancement of professionals in the clinical laboratory sciences. One of the prime activities of the fraternity is the granting of graduate and undergraduate scholarships for clinical laboratory science students.  Applicants for graduate scholarships must be ASCLS members

The ASCLS Education and Research Fund is the charitable foundation of ASCLS and was founded to encourage and assist educational and scientific research in the field of medical laboratory science. The Fund's Scholarship Program supports education for students, practitioners and educators. Graduate applicants must be ASCLS members

Award: Recipients of these scholarships are announced at the ASCLS Awards Ceremony and the Alpha Mu Tau winners are also announced at the annual AMTF dinner; both occur at the ASCLS Annual Meeting.

Application postmark deadline for all scholarships: April 1
The application form, required performance evaluation form and scholarship descriptions are available Nov. 1 of each year. All scholarships are administered by the Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity (AMTF). Completed applications must be postmarked by the deadline indicated on the application and sent to the AMTF Scholarship Coordinator as listed.

Eligibility for graduate scholarships:

  • Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents
  • ASCLS membership is required.
  • Applicants must be accepted into or are in an approved Masters or Doctoral program in areas related to Clinical Laboratory Science including Clinical Laboratory Education or Management Programs
  • Applicants cannot complete their education before the scholarship is awarded in September
  • Only one application is needed for the graduate scholarships  

Eligibility for undergraduate scholarships:

  • Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents 
  • Applicants must be accepted into an NAACLS accredited program in Clinical Laboratory Science, to include Clinical Laboratory Science/Medical Technology, Clinical Laboratory Technician/Medical Laboratory Technician
  • Applicants must be in or entering or in their last year of study in the calendar year in which the award is made
  • Only one application is needed for all undergraduate scholarships 

Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity (AMTF) Graduate and Undergraduate Scholarships

For the Graduate Scholarships, the applicant must be a member of ASCLS and cannot complete their program before the scholarship is awarded in September. For the Undergraduate Scholarships, the applicant must be entering or in their last year of study in the calendar year in which the award is made.

The amount of each scholarship depends on the AMTF general fund income (donations) and the return from and donations to the AMTF endowment funds. There are six endowment funds; Ruth French Memorial, James Holley Memorial, Dorothy Morrison Memorial, Ida and May Reilly Memorial, Martha Winstead Memorial, Royce Watson Fund, James Holley Memorial and Eleanor Parchman Memorial. Each fund awards one, or more, scholarships per year in addition to the general fund awards.

The amount and number of awards is determined by the AMTF Finance Committee and the AMTF Scholarship Committee. 20 -25 Graduate and Undergraduate scholarships are awarded annually in amounts from $1,000.00 to $3,000.00. The awards are made during the ASCLS annual meeting. Awardees are notified by mail.

ASCLS Education and Research Fund Graduate and Undergraduate Scholarships

The graduate scholarship is awarded to a deserving student in an approved Master or Doctoral program. One scholarship for $3,000 is awarded yearly. Membership in ASCLS is required.

Undergraduate scholarships are awarded to deserving undergraduate students in a NAACLS-approved program. Up to five scholarships for $1,500 each are awarded yearly and one $2000 scholarship.


2019 Recipients


Eleanor Parchman Memorial
Sasha-Gaye Isaacs

Roma E. Brown/Nellie M. Bering
Sarah Bergbower


Ruth M. French Memorial
Joanna Miranda

James Holley Memorial
Tanya Kranski

Dorothy Morrison Memorial
Alexandra Mercorelli

Ida & May Reilly Memorial
Sarah Burns

Royce Watson
Abbey Hilden

Martha Winstead Memorial
Lacie Posterick

Emily Adas
Elif Esra Cetin
Morgan Fisher
Alexa Gathman
Julia Hudgens
Ansar Iqbal
Briena Jarvi
Rachel Knutson
Marissa Lutz
Eleanor Sis