This award serves to recognize and reward ASCLS members who have demonstrated their leadership potential to the organization, and to provide these members with structured mentoring.

The Key to the Future Program is administered by the ASCLS Leadership Development Committee and is intended to assist constituent societies in the development of potential leaders to serve at local, state, regional and national levels of the Society. Additionally, the program encourages appointments and nominations of these highly motivated members to positions of responsibility within the organization that will further their leadership development.

Award: Recipients receive recognition and a unique Key to the Future pin at the annual ASCLS meeting. Constituent societies are encouraged to appoint/elect awardees as delegates to the ASCLS Annual Meeting.

Each constituent society should recognize their nominees by announcing their names at the constituent society's annual Awards Ceremony and presenting them with a unique item designated exclusively for this purpose. The names of the winners should be published in the constituent society newsletter.

Nomination deadline: May 1

Nominees are from a constituent (state) society. Each constituent society may recognize a maximum of three members per year. 

Method of nomination by a constituent society is to be determined by that constituent society. ASCLS recommends the current constituent society president be involved, with a suggested committee composition including the president, past president, president-elect and the previous year's recipients.

Key to the Future Recognition Program Online Nomination Form 

Questions may be directed to


  • Must be a new member (within three years), or a longstanding member who has recently increased his/her activity with the society
  • Must be an ASCLS member in the Professional, Ascending Professional, or Developing Professional categories of membership
  • Must have demonstrated leadership potential by directing at least one task force or project, chairing a committee with significant tasks, or performing exceptionally as a constituent society Board member or local/chapter officer; outcomes of this involvement must be considered outstanding, creative and of high quality
  • Must not have received this award previously

2019 Keys to the Future Recipients

Congratulations these 55 members from 27 ASCLS consituent societies who have dmonstrated their leadership potential to the organization.

Region 1

Central New England
Michael Iodice

Region 2

Jonathan Meyer

William Veilleux

Washington, DC
Yousif Barzani
Samantha Dean
T. Sachiko De Silva

Region 3

Melissa Chase

Mark De Luna
Grant Howard
Stephanie Walsh

Lester Dobson
Brandy Gunsolus
Phyllis Ingham

Celia Reulet
Rickey White
Paula Yarborough

North Carolina
William Anong
Peter Davis

Christal Lane

Region 4


Molecular Coordinator, Alverno Laboratories, Hammond, IN

Leah is such a pleasure to have on our board. Even though she doesn’t live in close proximity to our board meetings she always makes it a priority to remotely connect to our meetings. Leah has stepped up in our society by attending various events in the past few years and sharing what she has learned with the board, such as at Legislative Day, Annual Meetings, and state meetings. She is currently being groomed to take over our P.A.C.E.® chair position and always has insightful suggestions to help better ASCLS-IN. Leah was also a member of the 2018 ASCLS Leadership Academy Class.

Ming Yang

Sierra Harr
Maria Moss
Meera Patel

Darby Naheedy

Region 5

Galina Dronova
Eykka Gundlach
Morgan Zahn

North Dakota
Heather Gilbert
Leah Runyan

South Dakota
Stephanie Jacobson
Jodi Kor
Sydney Kor

Amanda Bakko
Benjamin Kaetterhenry
Hannah Ruplinger

Region 6 

Eric Elsinghorst
Jennifer Jones
Letycia Nunez-Argote

Region 7

Lindsey Clark
Sabra Hanna

Alejandra Perez
Cheyenne Reyes

Region 8

Erika E. Buchanan

Mary Echanove Brown

Abou Drammeh

Jed Doxtater
Bernardino Madsen

Region 9

Stephanie Davies
Stephanie Moore

Rachelle Barrett
Genaro Hernandez
Tiffany Mach

Andrew Nguyen
Holly Silver