2020 Joint Annual Meeting

Virtual, Affordable, Convenient

Read More


Becoming a member is easy and fast!

Join Today!

CONNECT Communities

Virtually network with your colleagues.

Read more



The Clinical Laboratory Science Distinguished Author Award recognizes authors of original relevant articles and of value to clinical laboratory science, published in Clinical Laboratory Science.

Award: Award recipients receive plaques at the ASCLS Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony.

Clinical Laboratory Science subscribers and Clinical Laboratory Science editorial board members may submit nominations. Recipient determinations are made by the CLS editorial board members.  Email nomination letters, stating specific relevancy and value, and the title of the article for which the author is nominated, to Editor-in-Chief Perry Scanlan at perryscanlan@gmail.com .

Eligibility: Any author published in Clinical Laboratory Science may be nominated.

Articles should be:

  • Original
  • Of high-quality writing
  • Relevant to the clinical laboratory science profession
  • Of value to the clinical laboratory science profession


2019 Recipients

 Patricia Tille, Roslyn McQueen, and Hassan Aziz

Hassan Aziz and Patricia Tille
"A Comprehensive Assessment Plan for Medical Laboratory Science Programs"

Clinical Practice
Devin Bourne, Samer Farraj, Justin Rhees
"Current Practice of Mitigating Monoclonal Anti-CD38 Interference in Pretransfusion Compatibility Testing"

Research and Reports
Katie Wilkinson, Tyler Wilkinson, Candace Adamson, Timothy Herzog, Tracy Covey, Barry Lloyd, and Matthew Nicholaou
"Polyoxometalate Induces Susceptibility of Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus to Oxacillin"

Rebekah Martin
"Antimicrobial Resistance: History and Perspectives"





Helpful Links